Copyright © 2019 Historic Nauvoo

Special Thanks: BG Art - Eric Dowdle

BeautifulNauvoo.com (city website)

Young

Performing

Missionary 

  • Facebook - Black Circle

Visitors can explore more than 30 historic sites from the 1840s when early members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints established Nauvoo on the banks of the Mississippi River. 

 

Tour restored and replica homes, shops and public buildings; visit gardens and cemeteries; see live demonstrations; and learn from monuments, historical markers, and volunteers.

Begin your experience at the Visitors' Center to learn more. 

Brickyard

See a brickmaster demonstrate how bricks were formed in Nauvoo, and take home a souvenir brick. By 1845, Nauvoo was home to seven brickyards, supplied by local red clay and kept busy producing bricks for the growing population.

LOCATION: Kimball near Hyde Street

Brigham Young Home

Brigham Young led the Mormon migration in 1846 and colonized much of the West. He was Utah's first territorial governor (1851-58) and served as second president of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This restored home contains period furniture and Young family artifacts.

LOCATION: Kimball and Granger streets

Browning Home

& Gun Shop

Jonathon Browning invented many firearms, including some used for decades by the US military. This restored home features period weaponry and furniture. See a demonstration about making rifle barrels and learn about the Browning family legacy. 

LOCATION: Main Street

Cultural Hall

Visit the heart of Old Nauvoo's social life. See its ground floor theater and third floor ballroom. Learn about entertainment in the 1840s and see historic quilts on the second floor. Summer visitors can catch a short play called “Just Plain Anna-Amanda.”

LOCATION: Main Street

Family Living Center

This demonstration hall introduces you to rope and barrel making, bread baking, and candle-stick making. See how rugs were woven and marvel at craftsmanship and 19th century ingenuity. A favorite stop for all ages.

LOCATION: Behind Cultural Hall

Heber C. Kimball Home

Tour the first home restored in Historic Nauvoo by descendants of Heber C. Kimball, who occupied it only a few months before being forced to abandon it in 1846. Learn about the role the Kimball family played in Nauvoo and in the Church.

LOCATION: Munson and Partridge 

John Taylor Home

Visit one of the earliest brick homes in Nauvoo. This federal-style home was built by John Ivins and later occupied by John and Leonora Taylor.  John was editor of the newspaper and an apostle in the Church. He was wounded in the mob attack on Carthage Jail but went on to become the third president of the Church.

LOCATION: Main Street 

Joseph and Hyrum Smith Memorial

Overlooking Historic Nauvoo and the Mississippi River, this statue commemorates the departure of Joseph Smith and his brother, Hyrum, for Carthage on June 24, 1844. Not far from this location by the temple, Joseph turned to Hyrum and said, “This is the loveliest place and the best people under the heavens; little do they know the trials that await them.”

LOCATION: West of the Nauvoo Temple

Lucy Mack Smith

Home

Joseph and Mary Noble built and lived in this home until 1846, when they gave it to Lucy Mack Smith, mother of the Prophet Joseph, who could not travel West with the Mormons. She lived here for only a few years before moving closer to other family members. View period artifacts and learn more about Lucy's inspiring life.

LOCATION: Hyde and Kimball Streets 

Lyon Drug and

Variety Store

Discover why this 1840s drugstore owned by Windsor Lyon was important to Nauvoo residents. See replica dry goods, textiles, hardware, and more. Don't forget the herb garden outside!

LOCATION: Hotchkiss near Main Street

Monument to Women

Memorial Garden

Stroll these beautiful gardens featuring twelve statues that honor the vital role of women in the family and society.

LOCATION: Visitors' Center

Nauvoo Post Office

This replica Post Office is part of a three-building complex that includes the John Taylor home and the Print Shop. Here you will learn how people wrote letters in the 1840s and how those letters were delivered. 

LOCATION: Main Street

Nauvoo Print Shop

Two newspapers were printed in this shop in the 1840s: a community paper and an official Church paper. See a period printing press and learn about the time-consuming labors needed to print documents in the 1840s. Learn the origin of common phrases like "ding bat" and "cut to the chase." 

LOCATION: Main Street

Old Nauvoo Burial Grounds

These Burial Grounds were used from 1842-46 but were neglected after the Mormons left Nauvoo. Restored in 1989, the site features a bronze monument of a grieving family and a kiosk that includes names of those buried in Nauvoo--since many original headstones are missing. 

LOCATION: Parley Street two miles east of Main Street

Pendleton Home

and School

This replica home illustrates how Mormons in Nauvoo met in neighborhood homes for school, rather than in separate school buildings. Community teachers were certified by a board of regents to teach. Calvin Pendleton was a board member. 

LOCATION: Kimball near Main Street

Pioneer Memorial

This memorial kiosk situated on a bank of the Mississippi River where Mormons began their great Westward Exodus lists the names of some 2,000 pioneers who died somewhere along the Mormon Trail during the years it was used for travel. 

LOCATION: Parley and Water streets

Quarry Overlook

Many of the stones for the original Nauvoo Temple came from this quarry. Although it is now filled with water from the Mississippi River, the great size of the quarry can still be seen from the overlook. These stones, weighing as much as two tons, were hauled by wagon up to the temple block where masons would finish them.

LOCATION: Broadway Street, northeast of Visitors’ Center

Riser Boot

and Shoe Shop

This shop, owned by George and Christianna Riser, was one of 13 such shops in Nauvoo. Learn about the time-consuming process for making footwear by hand using wood, leather, and nails. 

LOCATION: Main Street

Sara Granger

Kimball Home

Visit the home of Sarah Granger Kimball, early suffragist and advocate of women's rights. Sarah founded the Ladies' Society of Nauvoo that later became the Relief Society, which is now a global organization with more than a million members.

LOCATION: Commerce Street off of Young Street

Scovil Bakery

This reconstructed bakery sits on the original foundation laid by Lucius and Lury Scovil. In their shop, see 1840s equipment and learn about a baker's life before electricity. Enjoy a delicious cookie before you leave.

LOCATION: Main Street

Seventies Hall

Tour this reconstructed building set on the original 1844 foundation. The hall was used for  missionary training, meetings, and offices. It housed Nauvoo's first library. The main floor has been restored to look as it did in the 1840s and the upper floor contains a museum of Nauvoo artifacts. 

LOCATION: Parley Street west of Granger 

Stoddard Tin Shop

In this restored tin shop, see a demonstration of how Sylvester Stoddard used patterns to make a variety of essential household tin goods. Step into Charity Stoddard's sitting room and gain insight into frontier life. Innovation was key. 
LOCATION: Main Street

Trail of Hope

Stretching along the western leg of Parley Street are 30  markers with journal and letter quotes from Mormon pioneers preparing to leave Nauvoo. Read their words of hope, sadness, faith, and courage. Walk to the river's edge and contemplate their sacrifice for religious freedom. 

LOCATION: Parley Street west of Main

Pioneer Pastimes

During the summer, families love spending time in this outdoor hands-on display. Explore pioneer-era games like gee-haw whammy diddle, fox and geese, or hoop roll. Children enjoy playing in the log cabin or with a variety of wooden toys. Adult supervision is required. But playing along is encouraged.

LOCATION: Main Street 

Wilford Woodruff Home

Tour the restored home of Wilford Woodruff, fourth President of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This is one of the finest and best-preserved brick houses in Nauvoo—one of the few furnished with original belongings. The Woodruff family was only able to live in it for a few months before being forced to leave Nauvoo in 1846. 

LOCATION: Durphy and Hotchkiss Streets

Webb Brothers

Wainwright & Blacksmith Shop

At the Webb Brothers Blacksmith shop, you will learn how wagon wheels were constructed and see the blazing forge where the blacksmiths made horseshoes. This reconstructed shop sits on its original foundation and contains some original artifacts. 

The Webb's worked in partnership with wainwrights and wheelwrights in their shop to assemble wagons for the Mormon Exodus.  In 1846, this shop was a hub of activity building some 2,500 wagons for families preparing to move west. Because the Webb's supplied all the metal parts for wagons and tools needed for the frontier, they were among the last to leave town several months after the main population had crossed Iowa. Four of the five brothers made it to Utah. 

LOCATION: Parley and Granger Streets